Money and its Correlates: What are YOUR beliefs about Money?

Crafting Our Lives

Money & flowers

I have been teaching a PhD class in Positive Psychology for the last five years but this year I was in for a surprising insight on my own beliefs about money. Tanvi, a doctoral student in marketing who has taken the course as an elective this year, conducted a short exercise for the rest of the class on the topic of the associations we have about money in our brains. When I took part in the exercise I was shocked to realize that the themes that came up as my primary associations were ‘greed’, ‘guilt’ and ‘shame’. Far from being positive, I was carrying in my head a plethora of dark, fearful and apologetic beliefs regarding money.

One of the first things I learnt during my own doctoral training was that correlation does not imply causation. Just because two things seem to have occurred together a number of times it…

View original post 1,023 more words

Leave a Reply

